Skip to main content


The Board of Directors are responsible for planning and managing the policies, strategies and objectives that drive Western Water.

The roles and duties of Western Water’s Board are established by legislation, Ministerial directions and letters of agreement.

The Western Water Board comprises Board Members with a wide range of relevant skills, experience and expertise.

Andrew Cairns - Chair

Appointed October 2017

Andrew is CEO of community sector banking and former Head, Community Solutions and Partnering for Bendigo and Adelaide Bank. 

Andrew has held senior management positions with a range of private sector organisations including CEO of Community Telco Australia.  He is also a Director of Loddon Mallee Housing Services, Bendigo Affordable Housing Company.

Prior to his appointment at Western Water, Andrew was a Board Director and Chair of Coliban Water.

Neil Brennan - Managing Director

Appointed July 2012

Neil Brennan

Responsible for leading and managing the organisation, Neil was appointed Managing Director of Western Water in July 2012.

Prior to his appointment Neil was the Managing Director at Central Highlands Water for 15 years and he has previously held CEO positions at Western Water and Macedon Region Water Authorities.

Neil has been employed in the Victorian water industry for some 32 years, and has had various Ministerial appointments to industry committees. He is currently a Director of the Board of the Energy and Water Ombudsman Scheme Victoria (EWOV), Executive Council Member of the Institute of Water Administration (IWA) and Chair of the Victorian water industry's Intelligent Water Network's Steering Group.

Mr Brennan's academic achievements include a Graduate Diploma in Management, a Masters in Business Leadership and completion of the Oxford Advanced Management Programme.


Professor Jane Doolan

BSc (Hons), PhD, MAICD
Appointed October 2013

Jane Doolan

Jane is currently a Professorial Fellow in Natural Resource Governance at the University of Canberra and the Chair of the Murray-Darling Freshwater Research Centre. Prior to this, she was the Deputy Secretary for Water in the Victorian Department of Environment and Primary Industries, and has more than 27 years experience in the sustainable management of catchments and water resources. She was also a Commissioner with the National Water Commission until its recent closure and was a Director with eWater Ltd.

Llewellyn Prain

LLB (Hons), BA (Hons), GAICD
Appointed October 2015

Llewellyn Prain

Llewellyn has worked as a commercial litigation lawyer and in senior roles at a number of government agencies. Through her firm, PrainWriting, she has helped develop public policy in a range of areas, including health, public transport and equal opportunity. She is currently a director of the Royal Victorian Eye and Ear Hospital and the Public Transport Ombudsman of Victoria. She was an inaugural director of cohealth, one of the largest community health organisations in Australia, and is a past chairperson of the Western Region Health Centre. 



Michael McGarvie

Appointed October 2015

Michael McGarvie

Michael is currently Victorian Legal Services Commissioner and Chief Executive Officer of the Legal Services Board, the regulator of the Victorian legal profession. During his private sector legal career he was a solicitor, then partner at the law firm, Holding Redlich for 23 years.

Michael was then appointed the Chief Executive Officer of the Supreme Court of Victoria from 2006-2009. Michael is also a Graduate in Strategic Management of Regulatory and Enforcement Agencies from the John Kennedy School of Government, Harvard.

Russell Walker

DipBus(Acc), GradDip(Govt Acc), FCPA, MAICD
Appointed October 2015

Russell Walker

Russell has extensive experience in both the not-for-profit and public sectors. He was Assistant Auditor-General of Victoria (a position he held for 20 years), a Commissioner on the Victorian Commission of Audit, and has undertaken a number of consultancies, including for the Victorian Parliament's Public Accounts and Estimates Committee.

Russell is currently Board Member and Audit & Risk Committee Chair of Macedon Ranges Health. Russell has also been a past President of Guide Dogs Victoria, Board Member of the Royal Guide Dogs of Australia, Board Member of Coliban Region Water Corporation from 2010 to 2015, serving as Deputy Chair of the Board and Audit & Risk Committee Chair, and Chair of a Western Bulldogs Football Club major fundraising group.

Russell is an active member in the local community and is currently Vice President of the Gisborne and District Lions Club.

Joanne Duncan

Appointed October 2017.

Joanne was previously the State Member for both Gisborne and Macedon. She has been a past member of the Environment and Natural Resources Committee of the State Parliament, a member of the Ministerial Advisory Council on Public Libraries, Chairperson of the Women’s Correctional Services Advisory Committee, Council Member of the Victorian Environmental Assessment Council, and Board Member of Macedon Ranges Further Education. 

Isabelle Higgins

Appointed October 2017.

Isabelle is currently the Principal and Director of R&I Consulting, Environmental & Management. She is an experienced independent consultant to the manufacturing and utilities sectors with expertise in sustainability and environmental management, particularly in the water and waste sectors.

Isabelle has a Chemical Engineering degree (Toulouse, France) and two Masters qualifications in Environment (University of Melbourne) and Chemical Engineering (University of Houston, USA).

Claire Filson

Appointed October 2017.

Claire is a highly experienced non-executive director with an extensive background in financial services, superannuation, insurance, funds management, infrastructure and property including ports, roads, rail and utilities (water).

Claire is an independent member of the Department of Premier and Cabinet Audit and Risk Committee and a former board Director of South East Water Corporation (2000 – 2006). She has a Bachelor of Laws, Master of Business Administration (Executive), Graduate Diploma Applied Corporate Governance, Fellow of the Governance Institute of Australia, and is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Board committees

Western Water has three Board Committees. Each operates under approved Terms of Reference and is chaired by a member of the Board.

Audit and Risk Committee

The Audit and Risk Committee assists the Board in fulfilling its responsibilities by reviewing all matters related to corporate finance, auditing functions, review of financial statements and accounting policies. The committee also considers compliance with legislation and other activities and procedures, including insurance and risk management.

People and Culture Committee

The People and Culture Committee reviews remuneration and performance arrangements of executives and terms of employment for all employees.

Investment Review Committee

The Investment Review Committee provides strategic input into Western Water’s Capital Works Plan and monitors implementation of the plan in accordance with timeframes and budgets.

More Information

Facebook Updates

Email Notifications & Updates